Not even hardened off yet

I’ve finished Week Two of my MOOC on soil early, so I’m a little lost. That said, there is plenty of observing of my own to do in the garden. 

Every time I go past the apple tree, I have a look to see how many apples are forming. The blossom has almost gone and it’s not just the petals which are falling to the ground. However, I doubt the tree could cope if every flower fertilised, although I am hoping for more than the eleven or twelve I got last year.

A flower which is on the advent is on the tomato plant which I’m putting outside to harden off.


I’m amazed by the plant, as I’ve never managed to grown one so big before planting out before. On the other hand, it is nowhere near as robust as the ones in the shed. It was quite floppy until I put a stake in but hopefully over the next week it will gain more strength.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Not even hardened off yet

  1. gaiainaction says:

    That tomato plant is sure looking strong and good Helen!

  2. you are seed this plant to tomatoes ?
    what this variety ?
    nice

  3. All looking good – we’re only just thinking of planting tomatoes out.

  4. skyeent says:

    That’s a lovely green tomato plant Helen, How often did you pot it on? I think I leave mine too long and they tend to go purple.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you! I’ve potted it on twice – once into a three inch pot and then the one you see in the photo.

      I’m curious when you say your plants go purple. What do you think causes it?

      • skyeent says:

        I think it’s Phosphorus deficiency. Apparently this can be exacerbated by overwatering. I’m always worried about underwatering tomatoes, but I’m sure that they also depleted the nutrient in the soil well before I planted them out. I was waiting for them to get a bit pot bound, but they just stopped growing…They are in the polytunnel soil now anyway and two days later are already looking better, although still tiny compared to yours!

        • Helen says:

          Most of my tomato seedlings are still quite tiny. I kept half of them in the shed, next to big windows where they got plenty of light, but until recently the nights were still cold. However, any tomato plants I did pot on (house or shed) have grown much better. I’m not sure if it’s because of better nutrition (new compost) or having more room for roots.

          Funnily enough, I noticed the seedlings in the shed, though very small, had more roots, so I wonder if they have been searching for nutrients?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

