Absorbed


Yesterday, whilst collected chive flowers, I noticed a bumblebee feeding on them, too. Only this one didn’t flit about. It was like a statue. On one flower for as long as it took me to collect two tubfuls and run inside to fetch my phone.

The bumblebee clearly had more sense than me when it comes to appreciating chive flowers. Last year, I preserved two large jars of them in vinegar. What a mistake!

Thank goodness for the bokashi bin. And thank goodness for the freezer. This is where I will preserve my flowers from now on.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in In the kitchen, Wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Absorbed

  1. streepie says:

    I always use the chive flowers with the chives – so chop them and add them to salads, or use them as decoration. And I pick them and eat them straight from the plant 😉

    • Helen says:

      They are very pretty as decoration, aren’t they?

      I’ve got so many chive flowers, it would be a shame not to freeze the ones I can’t eat now…..

  2. Sharon says:

    Great photo. The bees are very camera shy around here!

  3. Congratulations on capturing that terrific photo. I’ve taken 100 photos of bees, just to get one clear one. They move rapidly from flower to flower. It’s nice to see that a chive makes for a long stop.

  4. It’s a good shot of the bee. I have made chive vinegar before and used it as a dressing – never thought of it as a way of preserving the flowers. 🙂

  5. skyeent says:

    Interesting about the chives in vinegar – were they like pickles onions?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

