First day of the month (and a fantastic homecoming)

This month, I wasn’t at home for the first day of the month, as we had a week away. While the holiday was great (more about that later), it was with a degree of trepidation that I left all my budding veggies, particularly the tomatoes, in pots. Would they survive without water for a week?

Thankfully, when we arrived home this evening, I was so pleased to see the garden thriving. Not only was everything in pots (including those in the shed and house) doing fine but the rose bush was covered in flowers, the peas were no longer flowers and the runner beans had germinated (well, some of them).

2nd June


It turns out that the lupin is purple, my favourite colour, and is accompanied by the odd phacelia plant around the garden. The poppies are also out here and there, with the yellow volunteer better than ever, though hidden in the above shot by all the greenery in the foreground.

In contrast with last month, the garden is certainly looking full. And I’ll soon be eating more than just rhubarb!

1st May

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to First day of the month (and a fantastic homecoming)

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Looking lush and lovely Helen, so glad you found it so.

  2. Garden is looking great. 🙂

  3. Wow! your garden look fantastic.
    Honey

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

