Out of the tarmac we grow!

Instead of the usual workday at Old Sleningford Farm, the hall the farm is part of had an open day as part of the National Garden Scheme. So, we took ourselves along to say hello to our friends and chat to the other visitors. 

On the other hand, as usual, upon returning home I did a quick appraisal of the front garden and noticed the following:


There are the ubiquitous dandelions growing on the wrong side of the border but what intrigued me was the borage giving them company. It thus occurred to me that one way of ultimately having a greener driveway would be to encourage this growth habit. In other words, perhaps the roots will eventually break up the tarmac and there will then be a reason to replace it with something more in keeping with my ideals.

I’ll sleep on that!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out of the tarmac we grow!

  1. I like that idea! Just sit back and let nature (borage) take over.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

