A hugel bed for sprouts

A mixture of hay fever and the legacy of camping left me disinclined to brave the cold and rain yesterday. However, it had been in my diary to build another hugel bed, so before settling down for the evening my gardening boots went on and out I went.

There had been a large sprouting broccoli plant in the intended bed, which I stripped in order to make sauerkraut….. I’d borrowed Food from your forest garden by Michael Crawford and Caroline Aitken from the library, which reminded me that I didn’t need to compost the whole plant.


A couple of years ago, I made sauerkraut with red cabbage and that turned out fine. I tried again last year but I followed a different recipe, which left to a mouldy mess. So, this year I’m back to a simpler version. Hopefully, this won’t go straight in the bokashi bin!

Anyway, a couple of sprout seedlings are now in their new home (moved from the ‘coldframe’). Strictly speaking, they shouldn’t be planted where other brassicas have been but I have heard that Charles Dowding questions the need for crop rotation. I’m not sure I would totally throw out the idea of rotation but with the hugel bed comprising bokashi solids, compost and lots of wood, I think the soil will cope with another brassica crop for a second time.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A hugel bed for sprouts

  1. andy1076 says:

    Sauerkraut! bring on the sausages!!! 😁😁😁

  2. gaiainaction says:

    You sound busy and motivated Helen!

  3. What a shame about the weather, Helen. It’s so unpredictable these days around the globe. I hope you have better success in the next few weeks. I hope, too, that you’ve recovered from your camping trip. Will you be working this summer, or do you have some time off?

    • Helen says:

      I’m working now through till 8 September. I will be doing some new and interesting things, at least…. And then we are going to a sustainability festival (so a bit more camping).

      Fortunately, all seems to have returned to normal in the garden – the butternut squash, for example look a lot better now 😊.

      • New and interesting sounds good to me. Enjoy! And more camping. Is your daughter a big fan? I remember camping with the girl scouts and enjoying it. I’ve camped as an adult, too, but never more than a couple of days. At this stage in my life, I’m all about my favorite pillow and a comfortable bed. 😉 I’m so glad your garden has returned to normal.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

