Early strawberries 

Earlier in the week, I’d noticed strawberries on the cusp of readiness. Phew! Thank goodness I saw before the blackbirds – who incidentally seem to be quieter than last year.

Maybe a net is being over-protective in view of this. Still, it would have broken my heart if I had missed out on the first strawberry of the season:

Yesterday evening’s dessert

It does seem incredible that any of my strawberries are ready this early in the month. I’m sure it was a coupe of weeks later in 2016. Perhaps the dry April prompted them into earlier action; or because of the dryness the bokashi liquid in the watering can gave them that extra impetus.

Anyway, time to grind some coffee and pop along to vote, see what’s on the Fuel for School stall and fiddle about with some corpora…. Mustn’t forget to put the butternut squash outside to harden off, now the ferocious winds have died down.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Early strawberries 

  1. skyeent says:

    One of my ambitions is to have a glut of strawberries. They don’t seem to appreciate my benign neglect methods of gardening however -always swamped in the weeds! I do get a few alpine strawberries which are now starting to ripen off. If there are only one or two, well you just have to eat them there and then!

    • Helen says:

      Perhaps you need a more vigorous variety. If they would survive going through the post, I could send you a runner or two. Mine multiply like crazy!

      • skyeent says:

        That would bd super Helen. I must admit choosing things on their catalogue descriptions doesnt always work for me. A known good doer would be a step forwards. Then see if they like Skye as much. If you send to the Post Office at Glendale that’s our shop. Anything you fancy in return?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

