Aquilegia

In the spring, a plant appeared which I had certainly never sown or planted. Out of curiosity, I let it grow and flower. And I’m glad I did, as the flowers were most charming.


I didn’t have a name for it, but whilst reading Food from your forest garden by Crawford and Aitken I came across the very same. Columbine, or aquilegia vulgaris, is apparently edible. Or rather the flowers and leaves are (the seeds and roots are poisonous). 

Now, I don’t know if my aquilegia is a true vulgaris or a hybrid, so I don’t in turn know if I really should be picking and eating the leaves (the flowers have sadly turned to seed). However, at least I now know what my mystery visitor is called.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Aquilegia

  1. Sharon says:

    Very pretty. I have borage, californian poppies and evening primrose self-seeded at the plot. I hadn’t realised until now what a thug evening primrose is!

    • Helen says:

      Is it? I was given some evening primrose last autumn – put the stalk with some seeds still on it in the front garden and am waiting to see which of the seedlings it turns out to be. I haven’t sown any of the seeds I put to one side yet but maybe I don’t need to?!

  2. I love letting plants grow too.. I wonder if Granny’s bonnet is its other name 🙂

  3. What a colorful surprise! Lovely.

  4. annmarie1979 says:

    Pretty flowers! Love the color! I would let plants grow in my garden that I didn’t plant myself, but have to be careful since all my plants are in pots. I don’t want an unsuspecting plant to take over a container. Thank you for sharing!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

