The headless tomato plant

The wind has come and gone, come and gone and one thing is for sure: it’s not just the butternut squash which are suffering.


While the first tomato plant I put in the ground is starting to grow tomatoes, another has been battered about so much that it has lost its leading shoot. Oh well, I guess tomato plants have survived worse fates, so I’ll see if it still flowers before calling it quits.

This is not the only variety of plant to be suffering – the sesame plant I put in the ‘coldframe’ as an experiment is dead. On the other hand, the ones in the house are coming on very well. However, I doubt they will be able to stay there indefinitely, so I hope the weather calms down soon.

To finish on a truly positive note, the melon plants (inside) have started flowering, so I hope they will produce some fruit. Not having grown them before, I’m not sure what to expect. My daughter loves this fruit, though, and it would be very pleasing to give her something else she actually likes from the garden.

Apparently, the only things I grow that she does like are strawberries and tomatoes. Well, maybe cucumber as well!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The headless tomato plant

  1. streepie says:

    I’m sure that the “headless” tomato plant will flower and produce fruits. Some people recommend cutting the leading shoot to prevent the tomato plants from growing too tall.

    Our tomatoes are flowering, but no fruits are to be seen yet.

    Best
    connie

    • Helen says:

      Well, if cutting leading shoots is recommended, I’ll run with that then, Connie 😊. Hopefully, you will see some tomatoes soon!

  2. andy1076 says:

    There’s the headless horseman and there’s the headless tomatoes huh! 😝

  3. skyeent says:

    I’m pretty sure it is possible to have two (or more) leaders on a tomato plant. I forget as well who it was recommended this ?Bob Flowerdew perhaps?

  4. Helen, I’m slowing catching up after a hectic few weeks, and as such I’m reading in reverse. It sounds like you’ve had some terrible weather. I’m so sorry to hear. My kids never liked much from the garden either. What a shame. I’m trying to grow corn and tomatoes this summer, and both are just limping along. Best of luck with your crops.

    • Helen says:

      I think it takes a life time to learn to like vegetables – I didn’t like most of the stuff my dad grew either!

      I hope your tomatoes and corn pick up, Alys.

      It’s all change here as we had blistering sunshine yesterday!

      • Blistering sunshine sounds contagious. And we’ve caught it! Ugh. I planted a new tomato, and one of the orange ones is producing so all is not lost. It’s too early to say on the corn. Interesting point on it taking a lifetime to like vegetables. I have two sons, one who eats most fruits and veg and one who eschews almost all of them. Go figure?

  5. Wow-home grown melons! I’m very envious …

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

