The garlic’s surprise

The strawberries haven’t quite stopped all other play in the garden but they have certainly kept me very busy. Not only have I been spending over half an hour every day picking kilos of them (one of my colleagues, another keen gardener, couldn’t believe his ears when I said I had picked about four kilos just on Saturday and Sunday), but I’ve also been very busy in the kitchen.

Tonight it was the turned of strawberry and mint cordial, followed by crumble using the fruit once it was done with being simmered for its juice. I’ve also got both plain strawberry jam for my daughter and the same with rhubarb for myself – and the freezer is full of the rest that will be processed at a later date.

And I can’t forget the strawberry sorbet…

Anyway, a job I did yesterday which has nothing to do with strawberries is to take up the garlic which had been growing in the hugel bed built last November (I’ve got more elsewhere which I’ll take out another day). I’m pleased that it did well, in spite of any possible loss of nitrogen in the soil due to the act of decomposition underneath.

However, many of the bulbs seem to have grown bulblets. If it had been just one or two I would have presumed that two of the bulbils they grew from had been planted together. But up to three extra mini garlics on the full bulbs?


I’m going to save these little treasures and replant them next year. Which makes me extremely happy, considering the garlic didn’t flower and produce bulbils from the flowers this year. I’ve got a few bulbils growing into next year’s garlic crop but not enough to keep us for twelve months’ supply in the kitchen.

I am curious as to why the garlic appears to have produced differently now. Perhaps it is because it has naturalised in my garden. Or perhaps this is a normal phenomenon when growing from bulbils. I guess the thing to do is see if it continues in the future….

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The garlic’s surprise

  1. mortaltree says:

    Quite fascinating. Never grown garlic from bulbils before, so have little to offer by way of experience in this area. My next post in the perennial allium series over at Mortal Tree is on garlic, so I will definitely link to your post here for others to check out. Thanks for sharing, Helen!

    • Helen says:

      And thanks in advance for linking to my post, Luke. I have a feeling the bulbils form little clusters of cloves in the first year in the ground which turn into several bulbs in their second year (which is where they are at now).

  2. Impressive strawberry crop! Interesting point with the garlic.

  3. gaiainaction says:

    A fantastic harvest of strawberries Helen, that is amazing and good. Once I have grown garlic, but the harvest was not great – after many months the size of the bulbs I put into the ground had only grown slightly larger, they were very compact. I think that I had not put enough manure in the soil.

  4. Wow! I’m incredibly impressed with your strawberry production. You’ve got a red thumb there, Helen. 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

