Is it a courgette plant

Whilst picking peas, I noticed a seeming volunteer plant in the same bed.


Last year, none of the courgette seeds sown germinated. Neither in the soil nor pots. I therefore thought the seeds must have been too old.

However, one of the seeds had been placed at the edge of the bed which became a hugel bed earlier this year and subsequently the one for peas. In moving the soil about, I had seen the courgette seed and assumed it would decompose. But clearly it had other plans.

This year it looks like I’m going to have a lot of courgettes then, as I’ve got another two seedlings, which have germinated with new seeds. Better make sure I’ve eaten some of the strawberries so that there is enough room in the freezer for the courgette crop!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Is it a courgette plant

  1. streepie says:

    Courgette or maybe a cucumber…. Time will tell!
    My courgettes are flowering – I am very hopeful that we have some fruit this year.

  2. Courgettes are good, volunteers are always a welcome surprise, so what could be better than volunteer courgettes? Apart from volunteer strawberries…

  3. Whatever it is, I hope it’s something you’ll enjoy. 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

