Sorting the forest garden out

In a recent post I mentioned the lemon balm, which was going crazy in my back garden. It all started when a small volunteer arrived a couple years or so ago. I put in a pot once I realised it wasn’t a weed and it survived. 

However, a bit must have remained in the ground, which I dug out a second time. Clearly, that didn’t work as this was the state of play at 7 o’ clock this morning:


It is still a small bush in comparison with the one behind the compost bin but it seems a shame to give this particular plant so much ground space when there are strawberry runners which also need a home. So, out it has come again.

I can make lemon balm lemonade, given by streepie in response to my last mention of this herb, which is delicious. And I’ve found a website which gives 12 things you can do with it, so I am going to try it with butter. A sprig has also gone in the syrup left over from bottling strawberries today (aka an impromptu cordial). The rest I will dry for winter.

Since strawberries have inevitably found their way into this post, it seems fitting to give an update on events (aside from the runners). I took the netting off so that the birds could have their share and today the blackbirds seem to have cottoned onto this. They have been so tame, coming down beside me as I worked out there, only flying off when I made a sudden movement.

It was also a delight to watch bumblebees on the tomatoes (outside) as well as the poppies. They seem less inclined to venture into the diningroom to fertilise the melons but I keep my eye on the latter and am ready with my paint brush for when the female flowers open.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sorting the forest garden out

  1. What a fun update, Helen. The garden hums along. I love the idea of the birds joining you as you work. And I’m always happy when the bees show up.

  2. gaiainaction says:

    Wonderful and interesting writing Helen. Have you thought of growing a lemon balm in a large pot? Might work for you too. And to see the bumblebees is always a pleasure.

    • Helen says:

      First of all, thank you for the compliment about my writing, Agnes.

      As for lemon balm in a pot, I do actually already have some, though it has gone beyond that now. That’s okay, as I am happy to have it, not least for the bees… I see today that it is on the verge of flowering 😊.

  3. Lemon balm tea is great in the summer

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

