At 10 degrees….


I hope the butternut squash I planted out the other day will survive the complete change in the weather. Today has been 20 degrees C cooler than last week, so even though I hardened off the little plant shown above, it must be feeling quite vulnerable and exposed. 

Still, if it makes it through the night, things should improve from tomorrow onwards. And at least the skies have given it a good watering!

According to my weather app, we’ll have had 4.5 cm of rain today. While it’s been cold and dismal, I can’t say I mind for myself. I will definitely sleep well. Especially as I didn’t let up on picking strawberries – and I finally got round to sowing parsley and coriander, now that the soil is soft enough.

The first round of coriander seed has largely not germinated. This could be because of the particularly dry weather. Alternatively, the coffee grounds I put on top of the soil may have inhibited growth. I learned on the MOOC about soil I did in May that they contain substances which make coffee nice to drink but which may prevent germination. So in the compost bin they will go from now on.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to At 10 degrees….

  1. I didn’t know that about coffee grounds inhibiting germination .. they are acidic I wonder whether that would be an issue. I hope those seeds change their mind 🙂

  2. gaiainaction says:

    Thank u for the tip on coffee grains Helen!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

