First day of the month (Full circle)

On the first of July last year, I decided to document the change in the back garden over the months. Now, I have reached the same point in the year again and here is the comparison:

Back garden 1st July 2017


Back garden 1st July 2016

Clearly, the structure of the garden is pretty much the same, with the paths as they were last year. Various perennials such as the rhubarb and apple tree are also in the same position as they were then.

On the other hand, the amount of garden taken up by the Jerusalem artichokes is much bigger now. And in spite of my best efforts to reduce the number of poppies, there are more of them, over a larger area, 12 months on.

The yukka on the patio has now moved to the front garden. Indeed the patio is no more, so much else that was on it has been put in the shed I got in February. The ground in this area needs considerable amendments to build the soil but once all the hugel beds have been constructed, I will be able to divert the biomass to mulching.

The aim is also to buy another apple tree to extend the forest garden. This will give more height closer to the house, particularly appealing in winter when the Jerusalem artichokes have been cut down. The strawberries are moving forwards in any case, so there will be fewer bare patches for months of the year.

However, I don’t want the garden to be just apples and strawberries, so I need to work on perennial vegetables and other fruit. For now, though, I hope the annuals are productive this year. Sufficient water and a more stable and warm temperature would help!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to First day of the month (Full circle)

  1. annmarie1979 says:

    What a great idea! I like how you have before and after pictures to compare progress you’ve made in your garden. I also like how you are planning what plants to put in next. I have a vague idea of what to add, but my garden has morphed into its own little beast of sorts. Thank you for sharing!

  2. patsquared2 says:

    Your garden is beautiful! I love the trend pictures, too. FYI – I planted sunchokes last year but I did them in the back meadow so I can mow around them and “control” their growth a bit. Have you harvested any? Any tips on that??

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Pat ๐Ÿ˜Š.

      The JAs will be ready for harvesting in the late autumn/early winter. As it stays generally mild here, I don’t dig them up in one go but leave the tubers in the ground and dig up was required. I mistimed a bit this year and was still harvesting them when as the new shoots were coming up. That’s in March time here.

      The tubers freeze fine, so if your ground will be frozen over winter you can dig them all up before it gets too cold outside.

  3. mortaltree says:

    Really beautiful with all the red. Thanks for sharing.

  4. jeffpermie says:

    Hi Helen,

    I highly reccommend Aronia as a berry perennial, I have the ”Aronia Augustifolia” which is a US native variety called ”Nero” available from Edulis plant nursery, they have maybe 3 varieties which crop at different times, but anyway, the berries have 3 times the amount of Antioxidants than Blueberries do and my plant purchased last year at the London Permaculture Festival has around 152 Berries on it this year alone!!!!
    Edulis attends rare plant shows countrywide but I believe they do offer delivery now, I just look at their lists online and order ahead, they will bring your purchased plants to any show you can attend nearby for collection, I’m tempted to buy the Schisandra Vine this year, it originates from Bhutan and hardy to -18 Celcius

  5. gaiainaction says:

    That is great to see, love the comparison of before and now, and to hear your plans!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

