Sempervivum in flower


My mum had hoped that my sempervivum (aka houseleeks) would flower for me – and they have!

Or rather, one of the plants has. The tower they come out on seemed to appear out of nowhere but then the buds sat there for quite some time before the first two burst out. The anticipation was worth it, as far as I’m concerned!

The borage around the plant which is flowering look decidedly jaded, on the other hand, so I think I will have them out. It’s not like there is a dearth of borage elsewhere….

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sempervivum in flower

  1. What a lovely specimen of a plant, Helen, and a nice gift from your mum too.

    • Helen says:

      I hadn’t thought about it flowering – to my mind succulents only live in the dessert, which is clearly not true!

      • I’ve really enjoyed getting to learn more about them during our years of drought. I didn’t realize how varied they were and though slow to grow, they do cycle through a season of flowers. I love that.

        • Helen says:

          And presumably they recover after they’ve flowered? Mine currently looks as though it is on it’s last legs!

          • Yes! The flowers shoot up from the center of the plant, then dry and can be snapped or pulled. I’m shaking the seeds below the deck, hoping they’ll take off. They don’t like water and prefer to completely dry out between watering. Is it possible your plant is getting too much? Best of luck!

          • Helen says:

            I doubt the plant is getting too much water. The front garden is drier than the back and we really haven’t had much rain. (I haven’t watered them.) The other sempervivums in the garden haven’t flowered and they look fine – maybe the flowering one simply looks different from anything I’ve seen before.

            On the subject of them reproducing, these send out runners and are, apparently, quite prolific. I can believe it as there are already see lots of babies around πŸ˜€.

          • I’ll look forward to an update, then, as your growing season progresses.

          • Helen says:

            Yes, I will do an update πŸ˜€

  2. susurrus says:

    That’s a lovely flower. My sempervivum is about to flower and I have heard at least some of them are monocarpic (i.e. they flower once and then that particular rosette dies). I’m curious to know how your plant is getting on.

    • Helen says:

      Mine seems to monocarpic (thanks for the new word!), as that particular rosette has died. However, the sempervivum is a prolific breeders so there are other rosettes to take its place. How about you?

      • susurrus says:

        There are some other medium sized rosettes that do not seem to be flowering yet and several really small ones, but I was a bit taken aback to learn I had to expect the biggest rosette to die – that was the first one and I had grown to like it. Oh well!

        • Helen says:

          It’s a shame, isn’t it? Likewise, I was saddened to lose such a beautiful rosette. Most of the other big ones are, though. I mean, they haven’t flowered….

          • susurrus says:

            I suppose it’s Nature’s way, but it seems mysterious for something to wither away naturally so shortly after it’s at its best, to our eyes at least. I suppose it makes more room for the little ones to thrive.

          • Helen says:

            That might be the point… many things in nature die after bringing up their young, don’t they?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

