The propagator

Today was the final one of the Permaculture Design Course, where we got to present our group designs of an allotment plot. It was a slightly surreal experience, particularly in view of the fact that I only met this year’s cohort, with whom I did the design, at the last PDC weekend in June. This didn’t stop me feeling sad as we said our goodbyes.

My daughter had a good time working with ‘her’ group, who were so accommodating. I think she will also have learned much, even if she swears blind at the moment that it was ‘boring’. At least she approves of this year’s choice of land to design!

Anyway, gardening doesn’t stop for me – and sourcing sundries via Freegle was next on my to-do list today. Or rather collecting a propagator on the way home. The lady decided to gift me the pots, too, as she felt they would be more useful to me than her.


My hope is that the propagator will lead to a higher germination rate. I’m onto my second attempt with soapwort – am interested to see if this herb can indeed replace tradition bars of soap and in turn be better for my psoriatic hands.

Most of the cucumber and butternut squash seeds have also failed to germinate. In the case of the latter, that may not be a bad thing, as I hardly have room in the garden for more of these plants. On the other hand, one cucumber plant is less than sufficient for our needs.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The propagator

  1. well done on finishing your course – and also picking up the propagator for free! That’s the joy of sites like Freegle: finding a use of something another person no longer has need of – and great that you got the pots as well!

  2. skyeent says:

    I certainly found that a propagator can help with germination of certain seeds. I think it also depends on how hot your house is. I also found changing my seed supplier helped. I’m certain that sometimes the seed we get is less than fresh. Let me know if you’re struggling with the soapwort, I can try and propagate some for you. It’s growing like a weed and thriving on neglect outside my kitchen door here!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

