This year’s apples 

Each time I count how many apples there are on my tree it comes out at a different number. However, if we say there are up to forty that means it is nearly four-fold more than last year.


It has taken quite some time for the tree to produce a good crop but then the top soil is so thin. At the time I planted it (early 2011), I had no idea about banking up the soil to add depth. On the other hand, I doubt I will bank up for the next tree, which I hope to get this autumn.

The bottom line is that if a tree gains soil, something else will lose it. And even if it does take the tree longer to establish, there will be soil building going on underneath its branches. The strawberries are moving down the garden and over time their old leaves will add organic matter to the topsoil. I’ve already noticed how effective that has been at keeping moisture in the soil round the first tree, which must also be of benefit.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to This year’s apples 

  1. andy1076 says:

    That constant balancing trick that plants do huh!

  2. Sharon says:

    Apples can take a while to settle in. I give mine a manure mulch in late autumn.

  3. gaiainaction says:

    I agree Helen, it is well worth the effort and time waiting.

  4. skyeent says:

    I’m all jealous Helen, I’m hoping for one apple again this year! Mind you my trees haven’t been in as long as yours, but probably (the one that’s fruiting) about 5 years.

  5. Helen, what an interesting post. I didn’t know about banking soil around a tree. We planted a grafted fruit treat seven years ago for my son’s 10th birthday, and it took about five years to fruit. It was also interesting to see it double it’s production from one year to the next. I guess the tree knows when it’s ready to start pumping out fruit.

  6. We only have one fruit tree in the garden – a Victoria plum which generally produces well if it is allowed to blossom undisturbed. We throw some fertiliser around the base in spring (most years) and that’s about it.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

