Keep up the hope

Yesterday, whilst sorting out the ground for the penultimate tomato plant, I noticed a cauliflower head appearing in the plant that I’d left in the (vain) hope that after a year of growing and having its energy zapped by the neighbouring Jerusalem artichokes, it might actually produce what I was growing it for.


It may be too small to see in the above photo but I can assure you that it has already grown in the last 24 hours. It’s a healthy plant, so I see the chance now that it could form a solid head. Mustn’t get ahead of myself, though….. It could just as easily bolt, like its sisters last summer.

Anyway, tonight I’ve sown Purple Haze carrots as a companion to the tomatoes on the right of the photo. Of course, I would also like the carrots for their own sake but I’ve only once got a decent root – back in the summer of 2011. Beginners luck methinks!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Keep up the hope

  1. Sharon says:

    Fingers crossed xx

  2. You have my sympathy – I have given up trying cauliflowers. We can grow all the other brassicas but caulis defeat me every time.

  3. skyeent says:

    Gardeners have to keep hopeful. There is so much to go wrong between seed and crop. My carrots have not germinated, been eaten as seedlings by slugs, disappeared under weed competition, looked really great, but turned out to be tiny, or something else had eaten them first! Definately keep up the hope – this could be the year of the cauliflower! I’m hoping that my courgette plants have out-grown the slugs’ appetite for the first time in ages….

  4. Linda Penney says:

    Lovely update my friend i hope your well and your daughter is too speak soon https://wordpress.com/stats/day/lindasgardenadventure.blog

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

