Pea happy!

I was in half a mind not to go to the Fuel for Schools stall today as it can be a bit hit-and-miss – easy to pick up stuff we really wouldn’t normally buy and probably shouldn’t be eating. For example, I now have three different types of mayonnaise in my fridge!

However, I could hardly believe my eyes to find practically a full box of sugar snap peas (grown in Worcestershire and still in date – as if they would be inedible ‘out-of-date’).


Going on my recent small crop, I wonder how many fields this took? I decided to de-pod the peas and freeze them for a rainy day, meaning I had actually quite a small tub. It really brought it home to me just how much land you need for a large crop of just about anything. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pea happy!

  1. andy1076 says:

    One of my favourite veggies too! ☺️

  2. skyeent says:

    Tall peas don’t do so badly for crop/area as dwarf peas. Obviously they take more supporting however.

  3. Well done. We love peas, the taste and flavour is worth the hard work. We have grown two rows on our allotment this year, oh boy, we are so lucky. 5lb of peas so far πŸ˜€

  4. jeffpermie says:

    I think we can discard the spacing advice that seed packs mention, Im starting to get into Multi-Sowing where you sow a few seeds in the same cell, and allow the plants to grow together and mature together, although each plant will be slightly smaller,your overall yield will be higher, this is especially good for root crops such as turnip and bettroot.
    So with Beetroot for example, you sow 4 seeds and leave 4 plants (remember sometimes more than one seedling comes from ”one seed” with Beet) and every week you simply twist out the biggest crop, leaving the others to swell up a bit more, so you get 4 medium sized Beets in the space where you would have had one big Beet.

    I’m not 100% sure but I think with Peas you can do 2 plants.

    • Helen says:

      I would say on the whole I have always ignored the spacing advice 😊. Anyway, good to hear that beetroot can be sown as you suggest as I have a tub of it all growing together. Smaller beets are nicer anyway!

      • jeffpermie says:

        The spacing is quite important for crops such as Tomato etc (the heavier feeders) but good for the root crops, sow 8-10 for spring onion, 4 for bulb onion, carrots can be sown like this too but the roots will be split, 3 for coriander and 5 for radishes … I just bought a book that includes this, will be putting up a post on it in the future.

  5. Do keep trying with the peas – they are so lovely when they work.

  6. I had a small, accidental crop of peas last spring, so small in fact, that I only ate three pods worth. They were older seeds that I didn’t think would grow, but ventured out anyway. Now I’ve saved some of the seeds to try next year in earnest.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

