The melon 

For weeks, I’ve been waiting for a female flower to open on the melon plants. Perhaps they did but I simply missed them… However, whilst doing the morning watering just now, at last I saw a healthy looking ovary with an open flower!


I quickly found a paintbrush to transfer some pollen from a few male flowers to the budding melon – I can’t rely on an insect helping me because of the plants being indoors – and now it’s back to nature to do it’s stuff. 

Melon is my daughter’s favourite food, so I’m particularly keen for this to be a success. We often have discussions about how I grow what I like…. although I think she does eat most of our garden produce. Well, bits of!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The melon 

  1. Sharon says:

    What variety is the melon? I’m growing ‘five desserts’ in the polytunnel. Found two fruits so far.

  2. I’m just really impressed that you’re growing melons! It’s my eldest daughter’s favourite fruit too 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

