Where has all the wood gone?

After another wait for rain, I was able to plant the remaining two cucurbits this afternoon. It still wasn’t great for digging a hole deep enough but at least I didn’t wish I had a pneumatic drill.

I had, however, actually expected to encounter wood on the way down. But no, there was none!

Last year, when I dug into the soil above the first hugel bed, I’d been surprised to see there was only wood left and I had therefore thought there would be wood left in the second, which is where I was digging today. So, I can’t believe I couldn’t see any.

Of course, I may have misjudged the exact location. Either way, I will continue to monitor…. and in the meantime, keep my fingers crossed for crops.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Where has all the wood gone?

  1. mortaltree says:

    That’s sounds like a lovely situation if so. I have hugel beds which are near five years old and still have wood under them.

    • Helen says:

      I’m hoping the wood is indeed doing some good but I am surprised that it has seemingly decomposed so quickly.

      Perhaps the wood in your beds was more substantial?

      • mortaltree says:

        The one in particular is cherry. Most was partially rotted when I piled it even. It’s branches too -most no more than 3 inches in diameter. There are such differences in climate and situation though, I’m not assuming they’re quite equal comparisons. Mine is likely more dry for one.

  2. skyeent says:

    Do you make your hugelbeds raised Helen, or are they more like woody bean trenches? I assume the latter since you’ve apparently lost one!

  3. That’s fascinating, Helen. I wonder if you’ll ever resolve the mystery.

    • Helen says:

      I’m going to investigate in the trench once all the summer crops have finished. I am trying to be no-dig but if the wood has gone, I would like to make a new bed….. with the number of mushrooms which appeared on this bed, though, I’m not surprised that the first lot of wood has decomposed so quickly (if indeed it really has).

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

