I don’t think it’s seakale

I got a second wind at dusk – had already removed a number of poppies during the day and decided to more or less finish off the job later. There is a final tomato plant to put in the ground and I thought I had identified the spot for it.


Considering seakale is supposed to prefer moist conditions, I doubt the spot where I sowed the seeds earlier in the year is ideal. Further, the strands of green in the above photo look very much like gladioli.

However, part of me is reluctant to disturb this ground, just in case I’ve got it completely wrong. Still, I think the next apple tree is going to go there anyway, and then that would definitely put paid to any hopes of seakale in the near future.

I have actually ordered the apple tree, a Ribston Pippin, which will hopefully be delivered in November. So, that’s something to look forward to as we head into winter!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I don’t think it’s seakale

  1. mortaltree says:

    I zoomed in as much as I could, but didn’t see anything that resembles seakale sprouts. But good of you to wait. They look just like any other brassica start actually, just really thick; sometimes purplish depending on variety. Best wishes for their quick emergence.

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for taking the time to look at the photo to see if these leaves could be seakale. I doubt the seeds will sprout now but you never know, do you?

      I think I will try to germinate some seeds in pots next year as my soil is just too dry. At least I now know what to look out for.

      • skyeent says:

        Hi Helen, did you crack the casings of the seeds? Seakale seeds are within a hollow corky outer shell. If not you may well find they will germinate next year, since I think removing the outer shell helps. I would try in a pot as you say, at least then you can be pretty certain what they are!

  2. Oh a new apple tree! That is wonderful, indeed.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

