Caraway

What is your favourite type of bread?

Mine is pumpernickel but I can’t get the ingredients to make that and my bread maker would probably struggle, anyway. However, it does do a decent wholemeal rye – as demonstrated by how quickly the one I made for the pot luck lunch on the last day of the PDC was demolished.

According to my Panasonic instruction booklet, a good addition to rye bread is caraway seed. I can attest that this is true and now I am in the process of trying to grow my own.

The night’s are drawing in – I need to get out before ten to get a daylight shot now!

I say ‘trying’ because, with no greenhouse and few windows in my house, the seeds sown this year have only just become seedlings large enough to be planted out in the herb garden. Thankfully, caraway is perennial and flowers in the second year, so I wouldn’t be getting a crop this year no matter the circumstances.

The fact that caraway is perennial, though, begs the question as to why there are so many seeds in a packet, when cucumbers might have so few (well, mine this year did). Perhaps you need fields of the former for an ounce of seeds for baking?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, herbs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Caraway

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Pumpernickel is nice all right. We do have a bread maker too but we stopped using it when we found that the bread became somewhat expensive while we could get excellent bread on the market.

  2. mukhamani says:

    Good to read about your experience. Here in South India, we do eat bread but for breakfast we make dosas and idlis. In North India people eat more of bread. But, I don’t think we have the variety that you have.
    dosa recipes – 32 dosa recipes – Veg Recipes of India
    http://www.vegrecipesofindia.com › Collections
    Regards 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog and for sharing recipes of India. They look amazing – I will definitely try some of them out!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

