My first raised bed

This morning was one of those times when I was so glad of my garden to take away internal anguish. A chance question by a friend’s mum left me in a state of disarray last night – but fortunately, I had already planned to do a number of jobs today. 

With the latest bokashi bin now being ready, I emptied half its contents into the ‘coldframe’ 


and covered this with compost from the finishing-off bin.


I had to take the fennel down to get at the bed, which is a slight shame as I’d been hoping this would give the lettuce I’ve sown in the raised bed some shade. That said, as August is upon us, the sunlight shouldn’t be so strong – and of course the seeds have to germinate first!

Anyway, the second half of the bokashi’s contents have gone in the compost bin. Fingers crossed this doesn’t attract rats, but I have covered it with lots of other matter, including what I pulled out from the bottom of the bin. I’ve got nowhere to move the compost bin to, so this is the next best option for turning the heap.

Another job I did was to chop off some of the lower branches of the tomato plants. I watched Gardeners’ World for the first time in years the other night and got this tip to help reduce the chances of blight, which ended my tomato dreams last year. But if course, this was excellent fodder for the compost bin and overall I feel I’ve had a good morning.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My first raised bed

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Good work Helen. I am still not sure what the bokashi is but will google it later. What comes to mind is that it is the composting of cooked foods? You are doing great in your garden and it is lovely to read about it and to see your constant progress and the joy you have in doing the shores. I thought it was clever to take away the lower branches of the tomato plants – that will help against blight for sure. At the moment I have very little time to work in my garden due to all my other activities and I am behind with reading the blogs of my friends and those people I follow. So today I am taking some time for that enjoyable activity! Have a nice day!

    • Helen says:

      You guess right, Agnes. The bokashi composts waste food. It makes compost more quickly than just putting it in the heap, although it still needs to decompose some before it can be called compost itself.

      Anyway, thank you for your feedback on my garden. I did four hours’ work this morning, which is more than I would normally do in a day, and was certainly satisfying.

      Thanks also for taking the time to read my blog. I hope you are enjoying all your other activities. Have a nice day, too!

  2. Helen, I’m sorry to read of your internal anguish. I know how challenging that can be. I hope you’re able to find a more settled place internally. Time in the garden and especially the work required, can be satisfying and therapeutic. Sending healing thoughts your way.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

