Our smaller friends


I’m having trouble with my back door. Before, it wouldn’t lock – now it is the opposite. However, whilst struggling to get it open yesterday, I saw a Red Admiral on the ‘patio’, which made the episode less frustrating.

There seem to have been a lot of butterflies about, lately. I had been thinking they weren’t coming this year – and now I am pleased it is more than just the Cabbage Whites. 

These might not generally be considered to be friends but worms are definitely way up there. They too seem to be worryingly absent, although the recent rain has brought some to the surface. My soil needs considerably more organic matter, though.

Anyway, here is a link to an interesting post about earthworms for all the stuff you didn’t know about them: Glorious Earthworms. Hopefully, they are not another creature on the verge of extinction.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our smaller friends

  1. skyeent says:

    That’s a fascinating link Helen. I never knew that earthworms could live for 20 years!

  2. Helen, I enjoyed the worm article. I’ve always been fascinated. Red Wigglers are the ones they promote here for worm farms or bins. I had a bin going for awhile, and I was careful to keep it covered, but one night something got into the bin. There was a hole in the center and every last worm was gone. Now I just rely on the natural activity of my compost bin, which has grown to a pile and a bin for now. Why not?

    I hope you’ve got the door working again.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Alys – the door is working again and I am going to get a new one in the near future. Sorting this out has distracted me from the garden somewhat but I think it will be worthwhile (not least the peace of mind!).

      How horrid that something got into your wormery and took all the worms. Poor things… glad you liked the article on worms, anyway.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

