Not deep enough

This evening, when I checked in the raised bed I made the other day, I noticed what I suspected might happen (but which I optimistically hoped wouldn’t). Namely, an animal had been digging.


I know what the attraction was: the contents of the bokashi bin, which I had then covered with compost. So, the next best action was to load the lot into the compost bin.

A shame that finished compost had to go back into the bin but I don’t want the ratty, which I think disturbed the raised bed, to smell the bokashi solids in there if at all possible. 

Anyway, the problem being the solution, I am now motivated to removed a number of marigolds from the front garden, so there will be more green matter to cover what went in the compost bin today. And the soil in the ‘raised bed’ has already been conditioned by the compost on top of it, so fingers crossed that the lettuce I sowed tonight will germinate to take advantage.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not deep enough

  1. skyeent says:

    It could have been worse – your visitor could have arrived after you sowed your lettuce!

    • Helen says:

      I had actually sown lettuce beforehand but one thing I forgot to add in my post was that at least the packet was very generous with seeds (been using the seeds for three summers and they will be out-of-date at the end of the year) 😉.

  2. I have exactly the same problem .. I end up feeding the wildlife, the 4 legged kind with the long tail 🙂

  3. Fingers crossed on the lettuce, Helen. 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

