Bergamot

The final herb to be planted outside in the ground is bergamot. It can be used to flavour boiled sweets or as a hair rinse, although whether I ever use it as such or, indeed, am able to remains to be seen.


Anyway, putting the bergamot in the ground gave me the opportunity to investigate the internal structure of this particular hugel bed. Now, I had expected to meet branches of tree on the way down but, as with another bed recently, there didn’t seem to be any. 

Of course, I could have placed the wood further down than I remember but if in fact the wood has gone, it doesn’t seem to have done this bed the good I had hoped. Not least, even after rain, the soil was still very hard to dig into.

Oh well, at least the brown and green matter under the soil will have added fertility and enabled me to maintain a closed loop. A branch had fallen off the silver birch next door (before the whole tree was tree surgeoned out of existence) and helpfully landed in my garden, so a hugel bed seemed a much more fitting end than taking it to the household waste site.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in herbs, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bergamot

  1. gaiainaction says:

    I love Bergamot Helen. I am very impressed with you having actually made a hugelbed, the fact that there is nothing of the wood to be found now is amazing as it does not seem so long ago since you built it. I am sure that the soil will be very fertile though. Happy gardening!

  2. Is that lemon bergamot? If so it has the most wonderful purple flowers which the bees adore ..

  3. You seem a bit discouraged, Helen. I hope your start seeing worthy returns for all your work.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I am feeling discouraged at the moment. Much of what I have tried to grow this year has failed or will be good only as biomass for the compost. This boils to: not enough space for seedlings, sandy loam soil and little rain, and my site being exposed to wind. I have noticed however that the Jerusalem artichokes provide a fair bit of shelter, so that is something to bear in mind for the future 😊.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

