Eaten

There isn’t much to report on the garden front at the moment. We are eating tomatoes and the first runner beans are nearly ready. 

On the other hand, the courgettes, cucumber and butternut squash are struggling. Nice therefore that we got a huge courgettte (yes, it was still firm even though it had become marrow size) from Old Sleningford, which has done us for a number of dishes.

I think the cabbage white butterflies will also be happy with my generosity in leaving two purple sprouting broccoli plants. They didn’t produce last winter and I wondered therefore whether they would do anything this time round. 

One of them might but I think the other has had it……

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Eaten

  1. gaiainaction says:

    The kale looks well eaten by the caterpillars of the cabbahe white buuterfly Helen, real nice you left it for them!

  2. Those caterpillars are thoroughly enjoying themselves 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

