Mowing the lawn 

Today my dad asked if I would mow the lawn for him. Now, this is a first for me and I was somewhat surprised to find that it is hard work cutting grass. Or rather scything is possibly comparably easier than pushing a machine.

Anyway, the experience of mowing the lawn this afternoon made me doubly glad that my lawns have been returned to the soil and the space is being used to grow other things. I still feel I have too much work to do for too little return but hopefully as my garden becomes filled with perennials this will be less so.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mowing the lawn 

  1. Push mowers are hard work. That’s what we had when we first bought our house. I didn’t mind the mowing as much as the edging. The tool always broke or I struggled to make it work. Good riddance to lawns, Helen. Don’t feel discouraged. You’ve done a lot to improve your plot and once those trees produce on a regular basis and you improve all of the soil, you’ll have a wonderful yield.

  2. Pingback: Mowing the lawn  – Through my eyes, me, mine

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

