The forgotten crop

I’ve been so preoccupied with the melon plants by the back door, watching as fruit after fruit has failed to germinate and then dropped off, that I completely forgot about the chilli plant on my bedroom windowsill.

Until this morning, when I pulled back the curtains and lo and behold 


two green chillies!

The rest of the flowers have fallen off, which makes a lie of the photo on the seed packet. You know the type: a massive plant dripping with fruit. Still, two is better than none – and presumably there will be new flowers in the future.

I’ve been so busy, in fact, I haven’t potted on two further plants, but now I have room on the windowsills, I may just do that. You can’t have too many chillies, as far as I’m concerned.

Quite how aphids manage to find there way indoors, I don’t know, though. The fruiting chilli plant is covered in them, so I will need to get the neem soil out pretty sharpish….

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The forgotten crop

  1. Noting like a good spray with neem. I wonder how those little suckers did get inside! Opportunists ..

  2. Whoops that was meant to be … nothing

  3. skyeent says:

    I’ve been going round fertilizing my courgettes and sharks fin melon (from the heritage seed library) by picking off the male flowers, eating the petals, and wiping the male bits into the female flowers. I’m pretty sure that lack of fertilization has been one of my problems with courgettes in the past, although I’m not sure why, since there seem to be plenty of insects in the polytunnel. They seem be setting pretty well now and I don’t suppose it does any harm.

  4. Helen says:

    I’ve taken to fertilising by hand before now but this year this hasn’t worked on the melons and I haven’t even seen any female flowers on the butternut squash. As for the courgettes, their female flowers just aren’t opening. However, it does look like some fruit may finally be starting to grow. I can’t tell how things are developing because I have been working 12 hour days or been away over the last week but I may be in for a surprise tomorrow! Good luck with your courgettes and melons.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

