Knickers in a twist*

This afternoon, I went past a police video van at just over the speed limit (I think). Upshot – kicking myself in case it was operating and I was indeed going too fast. The antidote to the spike in anxiety therefore seemed to be to get in the garden and do some heavy manual work.

I had been deliberating over which of the jobs to do first: compost bin, hugel bed or front garden. The latter wouldn’t have been demanding enough and, besides, the marigolds still have flowers on them, so I contented myself with a bit of weeding out there.

As for the back garden, I plumped for the compost bin. The rhubarb had finally retired for the year, so with the crown now bare, I moved the bin to cover it. The rationale for this is that the rhubarb will get plenty of food, especially when I leave a good mulch behind after moving the bin in the late winter.


I reckon the bin will need to be moved in January at the latest, otherwise I will end up forcing the rhubarb. I’m really not keen on that idea, considering it might kill the plant and I do want its produce for six months of the year.

Anyway, from moving the bin, I was able to mulch the bed where it had stood for the next crop of garlic. The bin had a large amount of compost at the bottom, so all I had to do was leave it in situ. And now I have a new job to actually plant the garlic.

* I put old cotton clothes in the compost bin. So, part of today’s activities was to pick out the elastic left behind.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Knickers in a twist*

  1. Clare Pooley says:

    I keep meaning to put cotton rags and old clothes in the compost bin but still haven’t got round to it. You have spurred me on and tomorrow I will sort out the old clothes heap! My husband tells me that cars’ speedometers are adjusted so that when we think we are driving at 30 mph we are in fact, driving at 28 mph. He says he has tried this out with those electric signs that tell us our speed. I am a little sceptical about this but he assures me it is so!

    • Helen says:

      Actually, I think your husband is correct. I have noticed the same (e.g. when my speedo says 28, the sign says 26).

      Anyway, I think your compost heap will appreciate the carbon from your cotton rags and clothes. I’m pleased with how quickly the stuff I put in a couple of months ago has rotting down. No doubt helped by the liquid from my bokashi bin, mind.

  2. You are good with recycling! Love the idea of covering up the rhubarb for winter

  3. There is something so satisfying about making your own compost, and seeing what breaks down, how and how quickly. My shredded paper didn’t break down the way I expected, but I’m thinking it may be lack of water. Next time I add it I’ll be sure to wet it too for a head start.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

